Five new cities included for visa-on-arrival in India

The provision of visa-on-arrival in India has been extended to five new cities besides the four existing metro cities.Hyderabad, Goa, Thiruvananthapuram, Bengaluru, and Kochi join the list of airports that issue Visa on arrival for tourists.???????????????????????????????

The existing airports with tourist visa-on-arrival facility are Delhi, Mumbai, Chennai and Kolkata.

The validity is limited to 30 days with single entry facility. However the purpose of visit has to be clearly specified, if it is for tourism or paying family members and friends a visit.

Tourists can avail of this opportunity with a visit no more than twice in one calendar year. A minimum gap of two months between each visit has to be maintained.

Visa on arrival is granted to nationals of Japan, Finland, New Zealand, Luxembourg, Cambodia, Vietnam, Singapore, the Philippines, Laos, Indonesia and Burma.

France, Germany, Russia, Thailand, Spain, Sweden, Malaysia, South Africa and Brazil are being considered for inclusion.

The rise in Visa on Arrival issued is 63.7 % when compared, between March 2013 and March, 2012.

Statistics drawn between January to March 2013, reflect a total of 5,744 VoAs issued when compared to 3,905 during 2012.The growth registered is a whopping 47.1%.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *